Join your colleagues for the Ocean Sciences Meeting Plenaries. More details, including topics to be discussed, will be posted as information becomes available.

John Dabiri, Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering and of Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University, California, USA

Dabiri’s research focuses on science and technology at the intersection of fluid mechanics, energy and environment, and biology. Honors for this work include a MacArthur Fellowship, an Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, and a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). Popular Science magazine named him one of its “Brilliant 10” scientists for his research in bio-inspired propulsion. For his research in bio-inspired wind energy, Bloomberg Businessweek magazine listed him among its Technology Innovators, and MIT Technology Review magazine named him one of its 35 innovators under 35.

In 2014, Dabiri was elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society. He currently serves on the Editorial Boards of the Journal of Fluid Mechanics and the Journal of the Royal Society Interface, and he is a member of the U.S. National Committee for Theoretical and Applied Mechanics.

Claudia Benitez-Nelson, College of Arts & Sciences Distinguished Professor, Marine Science Program and Department of Earth & Ocean Sciences,University of South Carolina. The research of Benitez-Nelson focuses on the biogeochemical cycling of phosphorus and carbon and how these elements are influenced by both natural and anthropogenic processes. She is a diverse scientist, with expertise ranging from radiochemistry to harmful algal bloom toxins and is highly regarded for her cross-disciplinary research.

Benitez-Nelson has authored or co-authored more than 90 papers, including lead author publications in the journals Science and Nature. She has been continuously supported by research and education grants from the National Science Foundation and NASA, among others.  Her many honors include the Ocean Sciences Section’s Early Career Award, Fulbright and Marie Curie Fellowships, and National Academies of Science/Humboldt Foundation Kavli Fellow.

Michael McPhaden is a Senior Scientist at NOAA’s Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory in Seattle, Washington. His research focuses on large-scale tropical ocean dynamics, ocean-atmosphere interactions, and the ocean’s role in climate. Over the past 35 years, he has been involved in developing ocean observing systems for climate research and forecasting, most notably the Tropical Atmosphere Ocean (TAO) moored buoy array in the Pacific for studies of El Niño and the Southern Oscillation and companion arrays in the Atlantic and Indian Oceans.

McPhaden is a Past President of AGU and has served as a chair or member of science advisory committees sponsored by organizations such as the World Climate Research Program, the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission, and the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. He has published nearly 300 articles in the refereed scientific literature and has collaborated with scientists on every continent. McPhaden is a Nansen medalist of the European Geosciences Union, a Sverdrup medalist of the American Meteorological Society (AMS), and a fellow of the Oceanography Society, AMS, and AGU. McPhaden will provide the closing remarks, entitled “Next on the Horizon.”